Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) advises the Sanquin Executive Board on matters concerning the research program, research management and research policy.

The SAB consists of the following members, appointed by the Executive Board:

  • Prof René van Lier MD PhD (chairman), (Sanquin Research & Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Prof Paul Klenerman MD PhD (The Jenner Institute, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Prof Peter Lansdorp MD PhD (European Research Institute for the Biology of Ageing, Groningen, The Netherlands & Terry Fox Laboratory, Vancouver, Canada)
  • Prof Pierre Tiberghien MD PhD (Etablissement Français du Sang & Université Franche Comté, Besançon, France)
  • Prof Tom van der Poll MD PhD (Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Jan Willem Smeenk (Executive secretary, Sanquin Research)